27.png

Insurer Expertise

(Prevention visit - RCCI - Vulnerability audit)

Insurers prevention visit

In the context of industrial risk insurance, a risk prevention visit known as vulnerability analysis is carried out regularly.

 

This visit is generally carried out by a prevention engineer with solid technical and regulatory skills, and preferably also with operational and industrial experience. The objective of the prevention visit or vulnerability analysis is to better discern the constraints and production requirements of the insured to guarantee a pragmatic and realistic approach.

 

Based on the existing situation, the prevention visit provides areas for improvement in terms of preventing operating losses directly linked to the various risks: Fire / Explosion, Machine breakdown, Climatic events or even a malicious or even terrorist act...

Identification of risks

Risks are the circumstances which occurrence can appear problematic and jeopardize the smooth running of the company's business. Its identification goes through the analysis of the causes of the problem. In this case, we speak of risk factors or by the analysis of the problem itself, we then speak of a risk object.

Risk evaluation

Once identified, the risks should be assessed according to the severity of the potential losses and their likelihood. The vulnerability analysis must make it possible to prioritize the risks in terms of operating loss and to quantify the financial impact for the operation in the event of an occurrence.

The important thing is, therefore, to carry out the best possible assessment to effectively prioritize the various implementations of the risk management plan. The greater the estimated loss and the more likely the event will occur, the worse the risk. The risk assessment is based on 2 components: a statement of generating events, which are not necessarily linked to regulatory deviations, and the inventory of dangerous points which varies according to the engineer's feelings.

Generating events are facts or causes which may be at the origin of a claim. The identification of the triggering events makes it possible to define the preventive measures likely to reduce the probability of occurrence of a disaster.

 

Dangerous points correspond to installations, equipment or activities on the site or in the vicinity, where damage may occur as a result of an operative event, the consequences of which will be serious for the property, activity or environment of the company.

The identification of the dangerous points makes it possible to locate the risk zones, to assess the potential seriousness of the disaster and to adapt the prevention and protection measures.

How does a prevention visit take place?

Progress of a prevention visit:

  1. Before the visit: sending the client a list of documents (annual report, asset values ​​to be insured, list of critical items, floor plan, process diagram, organization chart of services, etc.) that he must provide and make it available to the prevention engineer from the start of the visit. Validation of the visit program.

  2. First day of the visit: kick-off meeting - a reminder of the principle and progress of the expertise

  3. Next day(s): realization of the visit of the whole site. Inspection of the premises and the process in the company of the various managers (maintenance, production, engineering, HSE, etc.). The idea is to warn about risky situations and to provide solutions based on an exchange with the various interested parties for the sake of transparency and the feasibility of the proposed recommendations.

  4. At the end of this visit: a closing meeting is held. The purpose of this interview is to highlight the positive points and present the risks that have been identified and to see to what extent improvements can be made.

  5. Drafting of a report: this report offers the customer the various comments and solutions to be implemented to improve his risk prevention.

Components of the vulnerability assessment

Risk of fire and / or explosion

  • Electrical malfunction

  • Hot spot work

  • Human error

  • Consequences of lightning

  • Imprudence of smoker

  • Malicious act

  • etc.

  • Failure of a piece of machinery

  • Design flaw

  • Lack of control and / or maintenance

  • Corrosion

  • Human error

  • Indirect consequences of lightning

  • Malicious act

Machine breakdown

Natural or other events

  • Earthquake, tsunami, land collapse

  • Storm, cyclone, hurricane, thunderstorm

  • Winter phenomena

  • Flood

  • Aircraft crash

  • Water damage

  • Social movement, riot, attack

Estimation of values to be defined in the insurance contract

MPL: Maximum Possible Loss

The Maximum Possible Loss corresponds to the estimated losses following an accident if nothing is done to avoid or combat it. The MPL assesses the maximum amount to which a company could be exposed. It must take into account interactions (domino effect). It represents the maximum amount of damage that a single claim can cause when the most unfavourable circumstances are met. This assessment is carried out for the fire/explosion risk as well as for the risk of machine breakage.

RDL: Reasonably Discountable Loss

The Reasonably Discounted Loss corresponds to the estimated losses following an accident when the prevention and protection are effective. The RDL is deduced not from the MPL, but the MPL scenarios, on conventional bases. This concept is particularly essential for setting reasonable coverage limits in general liability insurance.

  • Risk prevention visit for cement factories in Nigeria, Iraq, Ivory Coast and Benin

  • Risk prevention visit for SOGARA Refineries in Gabon and SIR in Côte d'Ivoire

  • Steelworks, metallurgy factories

  • Plastics, compounding, production and sale of chemicals factories

  • Agri-food factories and cold stores

  • Logistics and transport bases

  • etc.

Here are some examples of missions carried out by PDCA ENGINEERING:

Secourisme Normandie

© 2020 by PDCA ENGINEERING LTD

27.png

Expertise Assureur (Visite de prévention - RCCI - Audit de vulnérabilités)

La visite de prévention assureurs

Dans le cadre de l’assurance des risques industriels, une visite de prévention des risques appelée analyse de vulnérabilité est régulièrement réalisée.

 

Cette visite est réalisée généralement par un ingénieur prévention possédant de solides compétences techniques et règlementaires, et de préférence titulaire également d’une expérience opérationnelle et industrielle. L'objectif de cette visite de prévention ou analyse de vulnérabilité est de mieux discerner les contraintes et exigences de production de l’assuré pour garantir une approche pragmatique et réaliste.

 

A partir de la situation existante, cette visite de prévention apporte des axes d’améliorations en termes de prévention de pertes d’exploitation directement liées aux différents risques : Incendie/Explosion, Bris machine, Événements climatiques ou encore à un Acte de malveillance voire terroriste.

L’identification des risques

Les risques sont des événements dont la survenance peut s’avérer problématique et compromettre le bon déroulement de l’activité de l’entreprise. Son identification passe par l’analyse des causes dudit problème, on parle dans ce cas de facteurs de risques ou par l’analyse du problème lui-même, on parle alors d’objet de risque.

L’évaluation des risques

Une fois identifiés, les risques doivent être évalués en fonction de la sévérité des pertes potentielles et de leur probabilité.
L’analyse de vulnérabilité doit permettre de hiérarchiser les risques en termes de perte d’exploitation et d’en quantifier l’impact financier pour l’exploitation en cas de survenance.

L’important est donc de réaliser la meilleure évaluation possible afin de prioriser efficacement les différentes mises en œuvre du plan de gestion des risques. Plus la perte estimée est lourde et plus l’événement a de chances de se réaliser, pire est le risque. L’évaluation des risques s’articule autour de 2 composantes : un relevé de faits générateurs, qui ne sont pas forcément liés à des écarts règlementaires, et l’inventaire des points dangereux variable en fonction du ressenti de l’ingénieur.

Les faits générateurs sont des faits ou causes qui peuvent être à l’origine d’un sinistre. L’identification des faits générateurs permet de définir les mesures de prévention de nature à réduire la probabilité d’occurrence d’un sinistre.

 

Les points dangereux correspondent aux installations, aux équipements ou aux activités du site ou dans le voisinage, où un dommage peut survenir suite à un fait générateur dont les conséquences seront graves pour les biens, l’activité ou l’environnement de l’entreprise.

L’identification des points dangereux permet de localiser les zones à risques, d’évaluer la gravité potentielle du sinistre et d’adapter les mesures de prévention et de protection.

Comment se déroule une visite de prévention ?

Déroulement d’une visite de prévention

  1. Avant la visite : envoi au client d’une liste de documents (bilan annuel, valeurs du patrimoine à assurer, liste des pièces critiques, plan de masse, schéma du procès, organigramme des services, etc.…) qu’il devra fournir et mettre à disposition de l’ingénieur prévention dès le début de la visite. Validation du programme de la visite.

  2. Premier jour de la visite : réunion de démarrage – rappel du principe et du déroulé de l’expertise

  3. Jour(s) suivant(s) : réalisation de la visite de l’ensemble du site. Inspection des locaux et du procès en compagnie des différents responsables (maintenance, production, ingénierie, HSE, etc.…). L’idée est d’alerter sur les situations à risques et d’apporter des solutions basées sur un échange avec les différents intéressés par souci de transparence et de faisabilité des recommandations proposées.

  4. À l’issu de cette visite : une réunion de clôture est menée. Cet entretien a pour but de mettre en avant les points positifs et de présenter les risques qui ont été identifiés et de voir dans quelles mesures des améliorations peuvent être entreprises.

  5. Rédaction d'un rapport : ce rapport propose au client comportant les différentes remarques et solutions à mettre en œuvre pour améliorer sa prévention des risques.

Composantes de l’évaluation de vulnérabilité

Risque incendie et/ou explosion

  • Dysfonctionnement électrique

  • Travail par point chaud

  • Erreur humaine

  • Conséquences de la foudre

  • Imprudence de fumeur

  • Acte de malveillance

  • etc.

  • Rupture d’un élément de machines

  • Vice de conception

  • Absence de contrôle et/ou d’entretien

  • Corrosion

  • Erreur humaine

  • Conséquences indirectes de la foudre

  • Acte de malveillance

Bris de machine

Événements naturels ou autres

  • Séisme, tsunami, effondrement de terrain

  • Tempête, cyclone, ouragan, orage

  • Phénomènes hivernaux

  • Inondation

  • Chute d’aéronef

  • Dégâts des eaux

  • Mouvement social, émeute, attaque

Estimation des valeurs à définir dans le contrat d’assurance

SMP : Sinistre Maximum Possible

​Le Sinistre Maximum Possible correspond aux pertes estimées suite à un accident si rien n’est fait pour l’éviter ou le combattre. Le SMP évalue le montant maximum auquel pourrait être exposée une entreprise. Il doit prend en compte les interactions (effet domino). Il représente le montant maximum de dommages qu’un seul sinistre peut entraîner lorsque les circonstances les plus défavorables se trouvent réunies. Cette évaluation est réalisée pour le risque incendie/explosion comme pour le risque bris machine.

SRE : Sinistre Raisonnablement Escomptable

Le Sinistre Raisonnablement Escomptable correspond aux pertes estimées suite un accident lorsque la prévention et la protection sont effectives. Le SRE se déduit non pas du SMP, mais des scénarios de SMP, sur des bases conventionnelles. Cette notion est particulièrement indispensable pour fixer des plafonds de garantie raisonnables en assurance de responsabilité générale.

  • Visite de prévention des risques pour des Cimenteries au Nigeria, en Irak, en Côte d’Ivoire et au Benin

  • Visite de prévention des risques pour des Raffineries SOGARA au Gabon et la SIR en Côte d’Ivoire

  • Des aciéries, des usines de métallurgies

  • Des usines de plasturgie, de compoundage, de production et vente de produits chimiques

  • Usines agro-alimentaire et des entrepôts frigorifiques

  • Bases logistiques et transport

  • etc.

Voici quelques exemples de missions réalisées par PDCA Engineering :

© 2020 par PDCA  Engineering

Créé par SalesCorp.